为父母学习国外安全建议

每年都有成千上万的国际学生安全地接受大学学习。 但是,始终要牢记一些安全基础知识,并考虑孩子可以保持健康并充分享受出国学习冒险的许多不同方式,这总是好的。

准备好了

您的孩子在离开学习目的地之前,需要考虑一些事情,这将使他们的生活更加轻松。 尝试了解一些基本的文化规范,这样您就可以确保您的孩子总是礼貌地对待孩子,而不必处理与文化差异有关的任何误解。 如果您很幸运地认识到生活在那个国家的人,请尝试询问;如果没有,Facebook团体或在线博客可能会非常有用。

保持安全

到达一个新国家可能会有些艰巨,但是要变得更加自信,一个好的方法就是探索并了解他们的新家。 学生应尝试与朋友一起探索这些新的地方,并记住遵循常识,不要在天黑后独自一人走。 乘坐公共汽车或出租车不会花费太多,这是完全值得的。

外出走动

确保您的孩子总是手头有现金或银行卡支付午餐,上大学的交通和其他日常用品。 重要文件(例​​如护照)和贵重物品应放在家里。 但是,建议您的孩子随身携带护照复印件。

健康问题

向全科医生注册或安排健康保险对于确保您的孩子在紧急情况下或生病时得到良好照顾至关重要。 请事先阅读所有信息,并通过访问政府网站来熟悉当地的医疗保健系统。

基本支持

如果您的孩子觉得自己需要与某人交谈,可以提供很多帮助。 他们应该理解有时感到有点想家是完全正常的,他们会发现有很多学生正在经历同样的事情。 如果您的孩子认为他们正在挣扎,请确保您给予他们适当的支持,并鼓励他们与朋友和大学交流。 国外大学提供出色的学生支持服务,它们是帮助学生解决各种问题的专家,例如心理健康,经济困难,与课程相关的问题以及许多其他问题。 鼓励您的孩子加入大学社会并确保他们进行社交活动,以免他们孤立自己也是一个好主意。

保持健康

建议您的孩子对当地的体育馆和学习目的地的户外活动进行一些研究。 您可以通过在线搜索和查找学生交易来帮助他们。 其中一些地方为学生提供折扣,这将使您的孩子以较低的票价享受体育运动。 保持健康和健康是在大学中脱颖而出,建立安全的朋友网络和健康的社交生活的关键。

了解更多

如果您想了解有关NCUK学生支持服务的更多信息,包括大学申请支持,帮助撰写个人声明和签证建议,请单击下面的按钮。

fbpx

Study Abroad Safety Advice For Parents

Thousands of international students go through their university experience safely every year. However, it is always good to keep some safety basics in mind as well as considering the many different ways in which your child can stay healthy and enjoy the study abroad adventure to the fullest.

 

Getting ready

There are some things that your child can consider before leaving to the study destination that will make their life easier upon arrival. Try to get to know some basic cultural norms so you can make sure your child will always come across as polite and won’t have to deal with any misunderstandings related to cultural differences. If you are lucky to know someone who has lived in that country try and ask, and if not, Facebook groups or online blogs can be very useful.

Staying safe

Arriving in a new country can be a bit daunting but a good way of becoming more confident is by exploring and getting to know their new home. Students should try to to explore these new places with friends and remember to follow common sense by not walking alone after dark; getting a bus or taxi won’t cost much, and it is completely worth it.

Out and about

Make sure that your child always has some cash or bank cards at hand to pay for their lunch, transport to university and some other daily purchases. Important documents, such as passports, and valuable items should be kept at home. However, it is recommended that your child carries a copy of their passport in case they need it.

 

Health matters

Registering with a GP or arrange a health insurance is essential to guarantee that your child will be well looked after in case of an emergency or illness. Read all the information you can beforehand and familiarise yourself with the local Health Care system by visiting the government websites.

 

Essential support

If your child ever feels like they need to talk to someone, there is plenty of help available. They should understand that it is completely normal to feel a bit homesick sometimes and they will find that there are lots of students going through the same as they are. If your child suggests that they are struggling, make sure you give them the right support and encourage them to speak to friends and the university services. Universities abroad have great Student Support services and they are experts in helping students with all sorts of issues such as mental health, financial difficulties, course related concerns and many others. It is also a good idea to encourage your child to join a university society and to make sure they socialise so they don’t isolate themselves.

Staying fit

It is recommended that your child does some research about the gyms in the area and outdoor activities available at their study destination. You can help them by searching online together and finding student deals; some of these places offer student discount, which will allow your child to have access to sports and exercise at a cheaper fare. Staying fit and healthy is the key to excel at university and create a safe network of friends and a healthy social life.

Find out more

If you want to know more about NCUK Student Support Services which include University application support, help writing a personal statement and advice on visas, click on the button below.