أبحث في الجانب المشرق

نشر:
مؤلف: ميليسا

عندما بدأت دراستي في جامعة شيفيلد ، كان من الصعب بعض الشيء التكيف في البداية. كنت أبدأ صفحة فارغة حيث كان كل شيء حولي جديدًا ، ومنطقة زمنية وثقافة وأشخاصًا ، وما إلى ذلك.

لكن توقعات كيف ستغير هذه التجربة حياتي على المدى الطويل كانت الجزء الأكثر إثارة ، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالجانب الاجتماعي من كل شيء. ومع ذلك ، لم يرَ أحد جائحة عالمي في طريقنا ، وهو أمر سيؤثر على الجميع تمامًا بعدة طرق مختلفة.

بدأ العام الدراسي كما كان عليه الحال بالنسبة للعديد من اللحظات المحرجة في محاولة الانخراط مع زملاء السكن الجدد ، والمحادثات المتوترة مع زملاء الدراسة ، والمحادثات التمهيدية المتعددة والعديد من الأمسيات التي تحولت إلى ليالٍ تستكشف المدينة. لكن سرعان ما ستدرك أن هذه الأماكن والأشخاص أصبحوا منزلك بعيدًا عن وطنك.

في بعض الأحيان ، تستمر الحياة بسرعة لدرجة أننا لا نفهم قيمة اللحظة حتى تصبح ذكرى ، فهي هشة للغاية ، ولا تستغرق سوى لحظة من الفوضى لتغيير كل شيء من حولك. نبدأ ببطء في تعلم تقدير المزيد مما اعتقدنا أننا لن نفوت: حياتنا اليومية ، وروتيننا ، والأشياء البسيطة التي عادة ما نأخذها كأمر مسلم به.

ومع ذلك ، لا تزال هناك أماكن لم نرها ، وأشخاص لم نلتقي بهم ، وطعام لم نتذوقه ، واحتمالات لم نستكشفها. سنقوم بكل ذلك. في غضون ذلك ، ليس هناك من اندفاع. لا يوجد شيء يمكننا القيام به.

بعد كل شيء ، يمكننا اختيار إلقاء اللوم على الفيروس والظروف الخارجية أو اختيار الاستفادة من القيام بشيء مثمر وتعلم تقدير ما يحيط بنا. في غمضة عين ، سنستمتع بلحظات جديدة مع الأشخاص الذين نحبهم ، مع ضحكات لا يمكن السيطرة عليها والعديد من القصص السخيفة لمشاركتها.

لمزيد من التفاصيل

إذا كنت ترغب في الحصول على نصائح وإرشادات من NCUK Student Ambassadors ، انقر فوق هنا للتحدث معهم اليوم.

fbpx

Looking on the bright side

Posted:
Author: Melissa

When I started my studies at The University of Sheffield, it was a little bit hard to adjust at first. I was starting an empty page where everything around me was new, time zone, culture, people, etc.

But the expectations of how that experience would change my life in the long run was the most exciting part, especially when it comes to the social aspect of it all. However, no one saw a global pandemic coming our way, something that would affect absolutely everyone in many different ways.

The academic year started as it would for many, awkward moments trying to engage with new flatmates, nervous conversations with classmates, multiple introductory talks and many evenings that turned into nights exploring the city. But soon, you realise that these places and people have become your home away from home.

Sometimes, life goes on so quickly that we don’t understand the value of a moment until it becomes a memory, it is so fragile, only takes a moment of chaos to change everything around you. We slowly start to learn to appreciate more what we thought we wouldn’t miss: our everyday life, our routines, and the simple things we usually take for granted.

However, there are still places we haven’t seen, people we haven’t met, food we haven’t tasted and possibilities we haven’t explored. We’ll get to do all of it. In the meantime, there is no rush; there is nothing we can do.

After all, we can choose to blame a virus and the external circumstances or choose to take advantage to do something productive and learn to appreciate what surrounds us. In the blink of an eye, we will be enjoying new moments with the people we love, with uncontrollable laughs and many ridiculous stories to share.

Find out more

If you would like to get tips and advice from NCUK Student Ambassadors, click here to speak to them today.