留学咨询:我们的14学生热门提示

发布 :
作者: NCUK学生服务

即将开始出国留学? 那么你即将开始一个令人难以置信的令人兴奋的,有益的新生活篇章。 在你上飞机之前有很多计划和思考 - 从哪里开始? 让我们来帮忙。 我们已将我们的留学建议细分为14简单提示,旨在帮助您充分利用在大学的时间。

包装

  • 复印重要文件。

护照,签证,驾驶执照......当然,您需要随身携带原件。 但是,当你需要快速的基本信息并且文件被埋在一堆堆的书籍中时,有便利的复印件也可以帮助你避免这种恐慌。

  • 打包聪明

你将在国外学习至少一个学期,所以带几个不同季节的衣服。 你如何将自己的生活融入手提箱? 通过打包智能。 请查看我们的海外学习包装清单,了解如何携带物品。

  • 研究借记卡和信用卡选项

当你开始在国外学习时,依靠你现有的银行卡可能很诱人 - 但不要陷入那个陷阱! 您可能最终支付巨额金额来使用您的卡或取款。 相反,研究哪些银行为国际学生提供最优惠的价格。 如果您遇到困难,请让您的大学指出正确的方向。 不要忘记一些新的数字银行,如Monzo和Revolut。 它们便宜且易于在不同国家使用。

  • 制定预算 - 坚持下去

新生周很棒 - 充满了有趣的活动和结交新朋友的机会。 但是你不想走到尽头,意识到你没有钱。 在您离开之前制定预算,这样您就知道食物和其他必需品需要多少钱。 然后,您可以放松,享受自己。

  • 获取ISIC卡

用你的钱进一步赚钱 ISIC卡。 国际学生证可供所有国际学生使用。 从餐厅到电影院和博物馆,您可以享受各种折扣。 不要忘记你也可以获得普通大学学生卡的折扣。

安全

  • 将ICE联系人添加到手机中

在紧急情况下,您希望人们知道联系谁。 在手机中几个关键联系人的姓名后添加“ICE”(“紧急情况”)。 然后人们可以一目了然地看到他们应该联系谁。 尝试在家里和东道国(如朋友或在大学工作的人)有几个联系人,这样你就能得到很好的保障。

  • 了解您所在国家/地区的紧急电话号码

在英国,您应该在紧急情况下致电999。 如果你不好但是没有生命危险,请致电111。 但这些基本数字因国家而异。 了解您在国外学习时应拨打的电话号码,以防您需要。

  • 得到保险

如果您在英国学习超过六个月,您可以访问NHS(国民健康服务),不需要健康保险。 您只需支付签证上的健康附加费即可。 如果您的学习时间不足,或者在美国等其他国家学习,请查看医疗保险以确保您获得保障。 如果他们丢失,破损或被盗,还可以拿出内容保险来支付你的财产。

筹备工作

  • 学习语言

如果你要来英国学习,你可能已经懂英语了。 一些口音和方言可能很难理解,所以在你离开之前观看英国电视或听收音机是值得的,以熟悉人们的声音。 如果你在某个地方旅行,你不懂语言,那就试着预先拿出基础知识,这样你就可以顺利通过。 像Duolingo这样的应用程序对于快速学习语言非常有帮助。

  • 决定你想住的地方

如果你是一名本科生,大多数大学都会让你留在他们的宿舍。 如果那是不可能的,或者你宁愿留在别的地方,那就看看私人住宿。 你会有很多选择。 关键是要在离开之前理清你正在做的事情 - 不要等到你到达。

享受你自己

  • 陷在

大学是一个激动人心的时刻。 你会结交朋友,学习新事物,并有很多很棒的经历,所以从一开始就陷入困境。 参加新生周活动,加入您感兴趣的俱乐部和社团。 他们会帮助你安顿下来,并迅速结交新朋友。

  • 决定你想要体验什么

无论你在国外学习什么,都会有很多值得一看的地方。 提前看看并确定您特别感兴趣的内容。 然后,出去做吧! 尝试在大学结束时尽可能多地列出你的名单 - 你会留下许多令人难以置信的回忆。

  • 跟踪您的体验

当你在国外学习时会发生很多事情,很难记住你所做的一切。 考虑记录日记或拍照,这样您就可以回顾所有的美好体验。 你不会后悔的。

  • 玩得开心!

我们可以给你的最好的留学建议就是玩得开心。 大学里有很多难以置信的机会和经历。 充分利用它们并享受自己 - 您将在未来几年深情地回顾这些记忆。

想要更多留学建议吗? 查看 我们学生的最佳技巧 了解大学入门所需的一切。

fbpx

Study Abroad Advice: Our 14 Top Tips for Students

Posted:
Author: NCUK Student Services

About to start studying abroad? Then you’re about to begin an incredibly exciting, rewarding new chapter in your life. There’s a lot to plan and think about before you get on the plane – where to begin? Let us help. We’ve broken down our study abroad advice into 14 simple tips designed to help you make the most of your time at university.

PACKING

  • Photocopy important documents.

Passports, visas, driving licences… of course you’ll want to bring the originals with you. But having photocopies handy also helps you avoid that panic when you need essential information fast and the documents are buried under piles of books.

  • Pack smart

You’ll be studying abroad for at least a semester, so bring clothes for a few different seasons. How do you fit your life into a suitcase? By packing smart. Take a look at our study abroad packing checklist  for advice on what to bring.

MONEY

  • Research debit and credit card options

It can be tempting to rely on your existing bank cards when you start studying abroad – but don’t fall into that trap! You could end up paying huge amounts to use your card or withdraw money. Instead, research which banks offer the best deals for international students. If you’re stuck, ask your university to point you in the right direction. And don’t forget about some of the new digital-only banks, like Monzo and Revolut. They’re cheap and easy to use in different countries.

  • Make a budget – and stick to it

Freshers’ Week is great – full of fun events and chances to make new friends. But you don’t want to get to the end and realise you’ve no money left. Draw up a budget before you leave, so you know how much money you need for food and other essentials. Then you can relax and enjoy yourself.

  • Get an ISIC card

Make your money go further with an ISIC card. The International Student Identity Card is available for all international students. It gives you access to exclusive discounts on everything from restaurants to cinemas and museums. Don’t forget you can get discounts with your regular university student card too.

SAFETY

  • Add ICE contacts to your phone

In an emergency, you want people to know who to contact. Add ‘ICE’ (‘In Case of Emergency’) after the names of a few key contacts in your phone. Then people can see at a glance who they should get in touch with. Try to have a couple of contacts at home and in your host country (like a friend or someone who works at the university) so you’re well covered.

  • Learn your host country’s emergency numbers

In the UK, you should call 999 in an emergency. If you’re not well but it’s not life-threatening, call 111. But these essential numbers vary from country to country. Learn which numbers you should call where you’re studying abroad, just in case you need them.

  • Get insurance

If you’re studying in the UK for more than six months, you can access the NHS (National Health Service) and won’t need health insurance. You’ll just have to pay a health surcharge on your visa. If you’re studying for less than that, or in another country like the US, look into medical insurance to make sure you’re covered. It’s also worth taking out contents insurance to cover your possessions in case they get lost, broken or stolen.

PREPARATIONS

  • Learn the language

If you’re coming to study in the UK, you may already know English. Some accents and dialects can be tricky to understand, so it’s worth watching British TV or listening to the radio before you leave, to familiarise yourself with how people sound. And if you’re travelling somewhere you don’t know the language, try to pick up the basics beforehand so you can get by. Apps like Duolingo are really helpful for quickly picking up the language.

  • Decide where you want to stay

If you’re studying as an undergraduate, most universities will let you stay in their halls of residence. If that’s not possible, or if you’d rather stay somewhere else, look into private accommodation. You’ll have plenty of options. The key is to sort out what you’re doing well before you leave – don’t wait until you arrive.

ENJOYING YOURSELF

  • Get stuck in

University is such an exciting time. You’ll make friends, learn new things and have a lot of great experiences, so get stuck in from the beginning. Go along to Freshers’ Week events and join clubs and societies that interest you. They’ll help you settle in and quickly make new friends.

  • Decide what you want to experience

Wherever you’re studying abroad, there’ll be lots to see and do. Have a look in advance and decide what things particularly interest you. Then, go out and do them! Try to tick as many things off your list as possible by the end of university – you’ll make a lot of incredible memories.

  • Keep track of your experiences

There’s so much going on when you study abroad, it’s difficult to remember everything you’ve done. Think about keeping a journal or taking photos, so you can look back on all the great experiences you had. You won’t regret it.

  • Have fun!

The greatest piece of study abroad advice we can give you is to have fun. There are so many incredible opportunities and experiences at university. Make the most of them all and enjoy yourself – you’ll look back on these memories fondly in years to come.

Want more study abroad advice? Check out our students’ top tips for everything you need to get started at university.